top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

A Matter of Readiness and Sanitation


At home, school, or even on hospitals—and other public places, we somehow expect that there are facilities, supplies, or equipment that we can count on in cases when we need to wash our eyes, or clean a wound, or simply wash our hands. The issue of sanitation, hygiene, and first aid cure are things that are so relevant to us—and yet not everyone takes these needs seriously. Sanitation is not discussed and practiced as often as we’d hope.

Mark, 19, a college student, shares how his own college failed to provide basic needs of students, teachers, and other co-academic employees of his university like first aid kit with a well-stocked content or even a single emergency eyewash station, “One thing that I miss in high school was that everything was provided for us, which was good since it was an exclusive private school. I remember getting wounded when I was playing for the soccer team—and my team members didn’t even have to bring me to the clinic because first aid kits are all available inside the nearby classrooms. When I went into a state university for college, there are just things that are out of reach. So I spend more. I bring my own hand sanitisers; I even bring wipes; and I never go out without tissues. And that’s just sad. No wonder a lot of students are always feeling under the weather. The university is a breeding ground for bacteria and viruses that may not even be known to mankind yet. Kidding. But seriously, I hate that even the toilets are very dirty. I can’t believe I can last until graduation.”

Sheila, 34, a mother of 2 children also shared about the importance of keeping all things tidy and hygienic inside her own home, “My kids are still small and they need all the protection I can provide. I got extra OC when I had them so I made sure I clean the apartment every single day while a nanny comes over when I am busy doing all the household work. It’s hard to change it because they can get sick, which means more things to spend on if they get hospitalized and I need to buy all these medicines we cannot afford. I make sure the bathroom is always clean too. Their room, the clothes they wear, and the food they eat. And speaking of food preparation, I can get really frustrated when meals are overcooked and more so when they are undercooked. It’s hard work, but for my family, I do these things with love.”

As the website toiletsforpeople.com through the article The Sanitation Crisis shared, “Diseases from unsafe water and lack of basic sanitation kill more people every year than all forms of violence, including war. Poor sanitation causes severe diarrhea, which kills 1.5 million children each year. Children are especially vulnerable, as their bodies aren’t strong enough to fight diarrhea, dysentery and other illnesses. Many of these diseases are preventable.”

And the issue of sanitation and basic readiness is more of a matter of “prevention is better than cure”. “We can’t always rely on speedy rescue and always blame doctors and nurses for our poor health,” said Prof. Lander Bellami, 44. “If the public and private sectors, and even home owners, can invest in basic things like first aid kits, cleaning products, etcetera, all these disturbing diseases can all be shooed away and never bother us. Aside from good nutrition, exercise, and good sleep, sanitation is also a key to a healthy life.”

bottom of page